Accommodation Reviews

Reviews about our Accommodation on the Theewaterskloof Dam in Villiersdorp

The Farm Cottage 

We publish the 20 latest reviews of our accommodation directly from Airbnb, to give you the full picture.

Yes, the farm cottages themselves (Fig for sunrise and Willow for sunset) are a bit close to the main road that feeds the town (it gets very quiet at night), but this is soon forgotten should your aim be to explore the countryside.

We are the most conveniently located cottage to stay at should you wish to experience the Theewaterskloof Dam, the valley and the surrounding towns.

Relax at the Private Pear Dam with hammock, benches,  barbecue spot, canoe and rolling lawn. The pear dam is the best spot to laze about and watch the kids and dogs play – of course we are pet friendly too.

Drinks and Dogs at Pear Dam

      Great host and cottage with all you need for a self catering break away. Being pet friendly we were able to bring our two dogs along. Pear Dam was a real treat for the kids and dogs and really makes the place. The cottage is semi detached and close to a busy road, but this wasn't really an issue and we enjoyed our stay and exploring the surrounding area.

    thumb Garth
    1/05/2020

      Willow Cottage was perfectly detailed by Jon Jon on the Airbnb app. It is a lovely rustic cottage. We really liked how safe our dogs were in our fenced in garden. We all loved playing in/on the private dam, soaking up the sun on the green grass, in front of the dam, and sailing with the little boat, at the dam, too.

    thumb Madelein
    12/30/2019

      The Farm is a beautiful, tranquil place to kick back and relax. The actual cottage is done really well with all the amenities you'd need, for a great stay!

    thumb Kali
    12/27/2019

      We had a wonderful and relaxing stay at Willow Cottage. The cottage was extremely clean and comfortable. Had all the amenities that we needed. Check in process and communication with Jon-Jon was absolutely perfect. Will definitely be back!

    thumb Karim
    12/22/2019

      A cozy cottage just outside of town. Well equipped kitchen, spacious bathroom, and comfortable bed. Alarm system for added security while you're out. Wifi is a bit spotty a time times so maybe have your (Hidden by Airbnb) meetings in the kitchen for best results. All in all we had a wonderful and Jon Jon wasn't a great unintrusive host

    thumb Grant
    12/19/2019

      We had the most wonderful weekend at Jon-Jon’s place. The accommodation was clean and tidy and special attention has been placed into ensuring that guests will have everything they need. The pear dam is perfect for an afternoon of relaxation and quiet time but for those looking to visit franschhoek it is a short drive away. We would gladly visit again (most likely with our dogs as the garden is secure and fenced off!)

    thumb Julia
    12/01/2019

      What a fabulous spot! Perfect little get away, close to Cape Town but far enough to leave your troubles behind. Jon Jon is a great host. The accommodation was clean and nicely decorated. Particularly loved the outdoor area. Lovely walks, dams everywhere. We'lldefinitely be back.

    thumb Beulah
    11/24/2019

      Absolutely relaxing and serene place... good facilities

    thumb Colleen
    11/18/2019

      Fantastic place for a couple getaway. Clean and rustic! Just the way we like it. Private access to Theewaterskloof was just the cherry on the top. Will be back very soon.

    thumb Pierre
    11/10/2019

      The cottage is spacious and well equiped. If you have a car the location is ideal for exploring the area.

    thumb Freek
    11/08/2019

      Fabulous place for a quiet weekend away with kids and fur babies! The damn was spectacular for lazy afternoon chilling with gorgeous views! Great host and fabulous communication!

    thumb Camille
    11/03/2019

      Wow! Willow Cottage never fails to restore my soul - it’s a little piece of heaven in an otherwise frantic world. The cottage itself is much larger than you would expect, the living more luxurious than you pay for, without a doubt, and the bath and shower.. well, what can you say that’s bad about a place that lets you bath without fear you are wasting water? Once again, it was spotlessly clean and thoughtfully appointed inside, and being a stones through from Villiersdorp and Franschoek there was plenty to do for the days (if you do fancy leaving the farm-I have had many stays where I don’t even bother!) Jon Jon is an amazing, incredibly interesting host, for whom nothing is too much bother and he is a wealth of information on the area and it’s history (and a few other things as well!)
    We came back feeling refreshed, happy, and generally nicer versions of ourselves.
    Thank you Jon Jon and de Rust! We will be back sooner than you think!

    thumb Sue
    10/29/2019

      We had an amazing three days- lovely getaway from the hustle and bustle in Cape Town - fresh air and bird sounds makes it a tranquil experience. The cottage is tidy and clean fitted with rustic and modern decor - the cottage have everything you need - for self catering- shops close by accessible and the Jon-Jon was just a phone call away - very helpful.

    thumb Mervyn
    10/28/2019

      Simple cottage on a working farm, right next to the farming facility. It’s a subdivided cottage, conjoined with another listing. The stoep (veranda) looks out onto the Main Road which is very close and visible to the cottage at eye level. Not ideal if you want seclusion and privacy.

    thumb Chad
    10/19/2019

      Excellent place for a quiet getaway from the busy city life. Scenery is beautiful and greener than I've seen in months. Easy check-in, helpful host and an intimate cottage with the best "stoep" where we spent most of our time.

    I would gladly recommend it and can't wait to visit again.

    thumb Rowena
    10/13/2019

      highway through the farm. items removed from outside cottage

    thumb Robert
    10/08/2019

      Such a stunning spot, 10 minutes from Theewaters Sports Club and the water. Was such an easy easy check-in and very hassle-free. With a great little cottage and stunning area surrounding the cottage, you really feel like your in your own slice of heaven. The view is amazing and when in the season you will find yourself a few steps away from there pears.

    Well worth the money and a great little getaway for you and family. % minutes from the tiny town of Villersdorp.

    Recommend to anyone looking for a lekka spot to get away for the city.

    thumb Madelaine
    10/06/2019

      Our stay was absolutely stunning! I love small towns and the cottage added to my list of places to visit again.

    Check in instructions were clear and understandable and engagement with Jon-Jon was easy, quick and convenient. Everything was clean, beautifully decorated, and little touches that you couldn’t miss, and that I didn’t expect. The private pear dam was a highlight for us, and it didn’t hurt that the weather was perfect during our stay. With the perfect book, picnic along the side of the dam, lazing in the sun - pure bliss. Definitely a must to experience. We were situated close to the town, thus easy access to what we needed.

    Highly recommended for a stay of rejuvenation. Until next time 🙂

    thumb Nicolette
    10/06/2019

      Wonderful 2 days spent in the Willow Cottage. Well kitted out unit with thoughtful touches of tea, coffee, milk and rusks which were really appreciated. It was cold and rainy on the days I was there but the heater in the bedroom warms the place up nicely. WiFi didn’t work for us so that could have been better but I suppose it then truly is a great place to unwind and have some downtime. My dog also loved roaming about and playing with Jon-Jon’s dogs. We also enjoyed walking across to the dam and exploring the farm. Perfectly peaceful. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay!

    thumb Levanya
    9/23/2019

      The cottage offered a few nice touches, such as plenty of electrical outlets with adapters, extra towels, and a comfortable bed. The inside stayed a comfortable temperature even on an oppressively hot day.

    thumb Matthew
    9/09/2019

      Thank you for a lovely relaxing weekend at your airbnb. Our doggo loved the enclosed space, highly recommended. The area is gorgeous and we loved our calm farm living; your accommodation is neat and stocked with everything we needed including a heated towel rail. We used the self-checkin and checkout process and all went perfectly. Thank you.

    thumb Rosalind
    9/08/2019

      Amazing location

    thumb Hermann
    9/08/2019

      Cute little cottage. Conscientious host. Nice to be able to take dogs. Good value

    thumb Greg
    9/01/2019

      Clean accommodation

    thumb Stephen
    8/18/2019

      A lovely traditional cottage with everything you could need, and some additional touches that made it special. Comfortable bed with enough warmth on the 2 cold and rainy nights. I would recommend this cottage. Nicely located too.

    thumb Debbie
    8/13/2019

      Host was very responsive and helpful. Unfortunately the Franschhoek Pass was closed so couldn’t get to Franschhoek but got to visit Greyton instead.

    thumb Leigh
    8/11/2019

      Clean space with outdoor area, fabulous braai and lawn for our puppy to run around all nicely fenced in with beautiful plantings and views to the mountains and farms beyond. The host was responsive when we had difficulty finding the cottage in the dark. Recommend taking a screenshot of the house instructions on your phone before arriving in the area as the cell service can be spotty and there are lots of helpful details you can reference!
    The area is blessed with wine farms, fruit trees, and mountains with trails for running and 4X4 exploration!!

    thumb Cynthia
    8/09/2019

      Clean space with outdoor area, fabulous braai and lawn for our puppy to run around all nicely fenced in with beautiful plantings and views to the mountains and farms beyond. The host was responsive when we had difficulty finding the cottage in the dark. Recommend taking a screenshot of the house instructions on your phone before arriving in the area as the cell service can be spotty and there are lots of helpful details you can reference!
    The area is blessed with wine farms, fruit trees, and mountains with trails for running and 4X4 exploration!!

    thumb Cynthia Biddle
    8/09/2019

      Stayed in Willow again. We do keep returning as always have a lovely experience. Franschoek pass closed is not wonderful for anyone so quick access to FH not an option. Fortunately the area is beautiful and coffee at Peregrine, supplies in Vdorp, Worcester or Elgin as good, and walks to the dam are always first prize. Highly recommend for a short or longer break.

    thumb Dale
    8/07/2019

      We really enjoyed our stay with Jon-Jon! The farm was gorgeous, and we had some lovely walks on the weekend. The cottage was really clean, the braai area was great, and we were very comfortable! Perfect for a stop while on a longer journey or for a city get away. The WiFi was a bit erratic, but the views made up for it! Tristan the dog was spectacular.

    thumb Nicole
    7/17/2019

      Spacious, clean and better than expected

    thumb Durr
    7/07/2019

      Great cottage for a quick trip. Clear instructions to enter and exit the property. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed.

    thumb Marike
    7/07/2019

      The chalet more than met our expectations as we were not really on holiday but rather just needed somewhere to escape to while our kids were at a camp on the dam. However next year we will be back as we enjoyed sooooo much.
    The chalet has everything you need to be comfortable. And the Host free checkin was fabulous and flawless.
    Our highlight was meeting Tristan. Wish we could have had him the whole time.

    thumb Belinda
    7/03/2019

      Great stay in a lovely little cottage.

    thumb Beverley
    6/17/2019

      Great location A bit further from Franshoek than I expected but he allowed me to have my dogs so was worth the extra drive
    Lovely peaceful setting despite the noisy main road passing the farm We had a wonderful stay thx

    thumb Sherryl
    4/29/2019

      Fantastic host, very friendly. The dogs loved having all the space to explore and other doggos to hang out with.

    thumb Mayuri
    4/28/2019

      Good. Relaxing. Clean.

    thumb KizzyMarlene
    4/22/2019

      Very clean and well equipped cottage, with everything you need. The cottage is on a busy road but we were aware of that before booking, which didn't bother us as much. Great place for your fur babies, especially walking amongst the pear orchards. We had beautiful views whilst braaing, a highlight for us.

    thumb Sherazahn
    4/21/2019

      A really beautiful spot. Special attention to detail both inside and outside the cottage. My partner, our puppy and I had a lovely stay.

    thumb David
    4/07/2019

      One of three cottages on a working farm in a beautiful region. It's right on the R45 so it's a quick trip into Villiersdorp and a gorgeous drive over to Franschoek or Grabouw. Jon-Jon is super helpful and responsive.

    thumb Jan (JD)
    3/31/2019